Gauhati High Court Gr-III Assam Judicial Service 27 Posts updated on 20th August 2022

The Guwahati High Court was promulgated by governor general of India on 1 March 1948 after the Government of India Act 1935 was passed. Establishing the High Court of Assam with effect from 5 April 1948, for the then Province of Assam. It was originally known as the High Court of Assam and Nagaland, but renamed as Gauhati High Court in 1971 by the North East Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971.

It has largest jurisdiction in terms of states, with its area covering the states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, and Mizoram.

Gr-III Assam Judicial Service Exam 2020

Brief Information of this Sarkari Job in 2020

The Gauhati High Court has announced a notification for the recruitment of Gauhati High Court Gr-III Assam Judicial Service Exam. Those candidates who are interested in the vacancy details & completed all eligibility criteria can read the Notification & Apply Online.

Last Date26-Feb-2020
Advertisement No.
Post NameGauhati High Court Gr-III Assam Judicial Service Exam Online Form 2020
Total Vacancies27
LocationGuwahati, Assam, India
Fee DetailsFor All Others: RS. 500/- For SC/ ST Candidates: Rs. 250/- For PWD Candidates: Nil Payment Mode: Challan/ SBI Branch by Cash only

Vacancy Details of this Sarkari Job in 2020

Sr.Post NameNo.of PostsQualificationAge Limit
1Gr-III Assam Judicial Service27LLB upto 43 yrs

Dates to Remember for this Govt. Job

Start Date12-Feb-2020
End Date26-Feb-2020
Date of Advertisement12-Feb-2020
Last date to Payment of Fee29-02-2020

After Indian independence, the Assam Legislative Assembly adopted a resolution on 9 September 1947 that a High Court be established for the Province of Assam. In exercise of power conferred by the Government of India Act 1935, the Governor General of India on 1 March 1948 promulgated the Assam High Court Order, 1948, establishing the High Court of Assam. It was inaugurated on 5 April 1948 by H. J. Kania, the Chief Justice of India. Sir R.F. Lodge was sworn in as the first Chief Justice of the Assam High Court on the same day. The Assam High Court initially had its sittings at Shillong but shifted to Guwahati on 14 August 1948.

Later, when Nagaland state was created on 1 December 1963, the Assam High Court was renamed as the High Court of Assam and Nagaland. On re-organization of the northeastern region of India by the North Eastern Area (Re-organization) Act, 1971, a common High Court was established for the seven northeastern states: Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram. It was again renamed as the Gauhati High Court.

After Meghalaya, Manipur and Tripura got its High Court, the Gauhati High Court ceased its jurisdiction in these three states.

The principal seat of the Gauhati High Court is at Guwahati in Assam. The court has 3 outlying benches. These are:

  1. The Kohima bench for Nagaland state (established on 1 December 1972)
  2. The Aizawl bench for Mizoram state (established on 5 July 1990)
  3. The Itanagar bench for Arunachal Pradesh state (established on 12 August 2000)

Former benches, now full-fledged high courts:

  1. The Imphal bench (established on 21 January 1972) (Converted to a High Court in March 2013)
  2. The Agartala bench established on 24 January 1972) (Converted to a High Court in March 2013)
  3. The Shillong bench established on 4 September 1974)(Converted to a High Court in March 2013)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply