MSC WB Asst & Sub Asst Engineer Vacancies 89 Posts updated on 1st October 2022

Kolkata Municipal Corporation or KMC (formerly Calcutta Municipal Corporation or CMC) is responsible for the civic infrastructure and administration of the city of Kolkata. This civic administrative body administers an area of 205 square kilometres (79 sq mi). Its motto, Purosree Bibardhan, is inscribed on its emblem in Bengali script. KMC is headed by Firhad Hakim the present Mayor of Kolkata.

Asst & Sub Asst Engineer Vacancies 2020

Brief Information of this Sarkari Job in 2020

West Bengal Municipal Service Commission has announced notification for the recruitment of Asst Engineer & Sub Asst Engineer vacancies under Kolkata Municipal Corporation. Those Candidates who are interested in the vacancy details & completed all eligibility criteria can read the Notification & Apply Online.

Last Date17-Jul-2020
Advertisement No.08 of 2019
Post NameMSC WB Asst & Sub Asst Engineer Online Form 2020
Total Vacancies89
LocationKolkata, West Bengal, India
Fee DetailsFor UR & OBC (A & B): Rs. 220/- (Processing & Bank Charges) For SC, ST & PH: Rs. 70/- (Processing & Bank Charges) Pay the fee through online & challan

Vacancy Details of this Sarkari Job in 2020

Sr.Post NameNo.of PostsQualificationAge Limit
1Asst Engineer (Civil)01Degree (Electrical Engg)18 to 37 Years
2Asst Engineer (Electrical)01Diploma (Civil Engg)18 to 37 Years
3Sub Asst Engineer (Civil)42Degree (Electrical Engg)18 to 37 Years
4Sub Asst Engineer (Mechanical)23Degree (Mechanical Engg)18 to 37 Years
5Sub Asst Engineer (Electrical)12Degree (Civil Engg)18 to 37 Years

Dates to Remember for this Govt. Job

Start Date06-Mar-2020
End Date17-Jul-2020
Date of Advertisement17-Dec-2019
Latest Update27/06/2020
Last Date for Online Registration & Challan Generation15-07-2020
Last date for Application Fee with processing Charges deposited to the Bank16-07-2020

Kolkata Municipal Corporation was established in 1876. Under the guidance of the first Minister of Local Self-Government in Bengal, Sir Surendranath Banerjee, the Calcutta Municipal Act of 1923 made provision for the enfranchisement of women and the election of a Mayor of Kolkata annually. Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das was the first Mayor of KMC with Subhas Chandra Bose as his Chief Executive Officer. Later mayors include Deshapriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta, Subhas Chandra Bose, Bidhan Chandra Roy, Nalini Ranjan Sarkar, Abul Kasem Fazlul Haque, and for the 2010–2015 and 2015–2018 term, Sovan Chatterjee.

The city is divided into 144 administrative wards that are grouped into 16 boroughs. Each of these wards elects a councillor to the KMC. Each borough has a committee consisting of the councillors elected from the respective wards of the boroughs. The Corporation, through the borough committees, maintains government-aided schools, hospitals and municipal markets and partakes in urban planning and road maintenance. The corporation as the apex body discharges its function through the Mayor-in-Council, consisting of a mayor, assisted by a deputy mayor, and ten other elected members of the KMC. The mayor is responsible for the overall functioning of the KMC and has a tenure of five years. At present, the All India Trinamool Congress holds the power in the KMC.

Recently the KMC has faced a lot of criticism for legalising unauthorized construction largely responsible for a number of deaths because of fire. This was also responsible of the unplanned growth in the city.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply